The FIFA which is generally is defined to a French world which is Fédération Internationale de Football Association but in English can be written as Federation of International Football Association.

The FIFA club world cup, it’s a competition between seven competing for the race or title, which are the winners of that year’s AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceania), UEFA Champions League (Europe) and National champions of the host nation league and they will all participate in a knock-out challenge.

The host nation’s national champions contest a play-off against the Oceania champions, from which the winner joins the champions of Asia, Africa and North America in the quarter-finals.

The quarter-final winners go on to face the European and South American champions, who enter at the semi-final stage, for a place in the final. This association brought about the idea of club world cup in the year 2000 called FIFA club world cup which was held in Brazil and the final was between Corinthians and Vasco Da Gama in which the match ended in goalless draw and headed into a penalty, and Corinthians with 4-3 on penalties.

The competition was not held from the year 2001 till 2004 due till the collapse of FIFA’S marketing partner International sport and leisure (ISL). But from 2005-till date it has been held every year. The winner of the FIFA club world cup goes home with a FIFA club world cup trophy and a FIFA world cup Champions certificate.

See also  Official and confirmed, Joao Felix becomes the new Chelsea player on loan until the end of season


This competition was hosted by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) , the competition started on February 3rd 2022 and ended on the 12th of February 2022. As said earlier, 7 different teams will be contesting for the winner title.  The list of clubs that participated were ;

  • CHELSEA – UEFA Champions League winners.
  • AL ALHY CAF Champions League winners.
  • AL JAZIRA CLUB – UAE Pro League winners.
  • AL HILAL – AFC Champions League winners.
  • MONTERREY – CONCACAF Champions League winners.
  • AUCKLAND CITY – OFC representatives.

In which all these seven teams competed with each other based on the fixtures, and it ended with just two teams which was Chelsea and Palmeiras, thereby both teams met in the finals which will determine the winner of the competition.


The final was between Chelsea FC and Palmeiras, after which Chelsea meets Al-Hilal on 9th of February,2022 at the Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi and Chelsea wins with one goal which was scored by Romelu Lukaku in the 32’ minutes and Palmeiras faces Al-Ahly and the match resulted to a two goals win by Palmeiras and the goals was scored by Raphael Veiga in the 39’ minutes which was assisted by dudu and a goal by dudu in the 49’ minutes which was assisted by Raphael Veiga. The match started by 5:30pm at the Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

There was no goal scored in the first half of the match, but after the second half started Romelu Lukaku scored in the 54’ minute which was assisted by Callum Hudson-Odoi and in the 64’ minute Raphael Veiga scored a penalty and thereby resulting into a draw.

See also  Manchester United make an initial £39 million proposal for Ajax defender Lisandro Martinez, who wants to reunite with Erik ten Hag despite rival Arsenal interest.

The 90’ minutes plus added time ended in a 1-1 draw and the match proceeded into an extra time. The First half of extra time resulted into goalless draw, then the second half started and in the 117’ minutes Kai Havertz scored a penalty following a  VAR review and the match ended in a 2-1 win for Chelsea.

Kai Havertz, the hero in the Champions League final against Manchester City. Now Chelsea have now claimed every possible trophy since Roman Abramovich bought the club in the year 2003, and which makes them  become the third English side to win the global tournament after Manchester United and Liverpool.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *