The EFL cup which was also referred to as League cup and now popularly known as Carabao cup sponsorship reasons, is a knockout football competition among which is majorly among men’s English football teams. This competition was formed and organized by the English Football League (EFL) and this competition was open to all clubs from the top four stand of the English Football league system which comprises of the English Premier League, Championship, League one and League two.

This EFL competition was first held in 1960-1961 as the football league cup. It is ranked one of the top three domestic football competition in England alongside the Premier league and FA cup.  The Carabao cup competition 2021- 2022 was the 62nd season of the Carabao cup and the competition started on the 31st of July, 2021 in which 92 teams participated and 92 matches was also played. The competition ended on the 27th of February, 2022.

The competition was a very difficult and tough one but there must always be a winner. After the southern and northern section matches, it then proceeded to the 2nd round up till the 4th round, then to the quarter final down to the semi-final. The semi-final was between four clubs Chelsea and Tottenham in which they faced each other in two different legs and also Arsenal and Liverpool and they also faced each other in two legs.

The first leg between Chelsea and Tottenham resulted into a 2-0 win to Chelsea and the second leg between them led to a 1-0 win to Chelsea also in which the aggregate resulted to a 3-0 to Chelsea. The first leg between Arsenal and Liverpool resulted to a goalless draw between them, while the second leg was a 0-2 win for Liverpool that is, the aggregate is a 0-2 win for Liverpool.

See also  Arsenal Set To Table Opening Bid For 27 Year Old Goalkeeper Which Is £25M Below Club's Asking Price

The final was between Chelsea and Liverpool which was played on the 27th of February, 2022 at the Wembley Stadium. The match kick-off started by 4:30pm, the match was a tough but although it was a good start for Liverpool especially Caoimhin Kelleher who made a series of save denying Mason mount  but the first half time ended in a goalless draw. Chelsea came better in the second half by creating better chances in both quality and quantity.

Although, goals were being scored, in fact four goals were scored but all were disallowed  regarding their reviews. First disallowed goal was from Liverpool and the remaining three were from Chelsea. Kai Harvetz was denied twice by linesman and Romelu Lukaku whose goal was cancelled after a VAR review.

The second half ended into a 0- 0 draw and led into the extra times. The two extra time halves also resulted into a penalty Chelsea keeper Edouard Mendy was substituted by Kepa Arrizabalaga due to the fact that he has better potentials of keeping penalties more than Mendy and  the game went all the way to penalty shoot out.


The penalty shoot out was first played by James Milner a Liverpool player followed by Marcos Alonso who played for Chelsea. Kepa Arrizabalaga was at the center earlier when Virgil Van Dijk wanted to play his penalty but when he played it Kepa moved to the side and the ball scored at the center where Kepa was earlier. Both teams played 10 penalties each and all was scored.

Then it proceeded to keeper against keeper, Caoimhin Kelleher scored his penalty but Kepa Arrizabalaga played his penalty over the cross bar.

See also  Confirmed: Manchester United to announce Lisandro Martinez after the agreement of £57 million with Ajax for the defender to sign a five-year contract

Liverpool became the winner of the 2021/22 carabao cup  which led to their 9th title of the competition and they have the highest winning title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *